Skip Navigation Links
 Home 
 Renew  Expand Renew
 Forms  Expand Forms
 Information  Expand Information
 Locations  Expand Locations
 Address Change 
 Contact Us 
 Title Information


Alabama is a title state. A title is a document which proves ownership. State law requires an Alabama resident who owns a motor vehicle to obtain a title for that motor vehicle if it is 35 years old or newer. A new Alabama resident is required to title and register his vehicle within thirty (30) days of moving into the state. Boats are not titled.

You may apply for an Alabama title at any motor vehicle office in Mobile County. Titles are printed in Montgomery and mailed to the vehicle owners or lien holders. The fee for applying for title is $19.25