General Information

An Alabama driver's license or State ID may be renewed at any Mobile County License Commissioner office.
The fee is $37.50.
duplicate driver's license or State ID can be issued with the proper identification.
The fee is $32.50.

For a list of acceptable forms of identification, click here .
Online Renewal
If you'd like to renew or obtain a duplicate license or State ID online, please click here.
STAR ID
A STAR ID can only be issued at the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency. We will NOT be able to issue a driver’s license with the STAR ID at the Mobile County License Commissioner’s office.

For Alabama Law Enforcement Agency locations click here.

For more information about the STAR ID click here.
New Issuance & Out of State Residents
For out-of-state new residents , first-time issuance of an Alabama driver's license, State ID, suspended driver's license, or a foreign national driver license, you must apply at the following Alabama Department of Public Safety Office:
Alabama Law Enforcement Agency
Alabama Department of Public Safety
3400 Demetropolis Road
Mobile, AL 36609
(251) 660-2330
Name Change
Driver License name changes due to marriage or divorce must change their Social Security card with Social Security Administration first.
You must wait 2 business days for the changes to take effect from the Social Security Office.
You may contact the Social Security Office at 1-800-772-1213.
For hours and locations of the License Commissioner click here -> License Commission Locations & Hours .

For additional questions regarding driver licenses, please visit the Alabama Law Enforcement Agency web site at https://www.alea.gov/Home/