General Information

How do I register my boat?
  • If it is a new boat, it must be registered in 3 days and a bill of sale is needed. No title is required in the state of Alabama.
  • If it is a used boat, it must be registered in 15 days, and a bill of sale and the last boat registration certificate are required. No title is required in the state of Alabama.
  • The disclosure of your social security number is required pursuant to Federal law 42 U.S.C.A. § 666(a)(13)(2003) and Alabama state law § 30-3-194(a) Code of Alabama 1975. Information may be supplied to the Alabama Department of Human Resources to enforce orders of child support.
  • Registration cost:
Boat Length/Fee
Class Length Fee
  I less than 16 feet $20.00
  II 16 feet to less than 26 feet $25.00
  III 26 feet to less than 40 feet $75.00
  IV 40 feet and over $100.00
Transfers: $5.00
Replacement/Duplicate Certificates: $5.00
  • Registration of boats can be handled at any of the offices of the License Commissioner.
  • For additional information regarding the registration of your boat, contact (251) 574-8563.
How do I obtain a Hunting License?
  • A valid Alabama driver license is required.
  • The disclosure of your social security number is required pursuant to Federal law 42 U.S.C.A. § 666(a)(13)(2003) and Alabama state law § 30-3-194(a) Code of Alabama 1975. Information may be supplied to the Alabama Department of Human Resources to enforce orders of child support.
  • Hunter Education Card if applicable.
  • Current resident and non-resident hunting license prices can be found at http://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses/huntlicinfo/
  • Cost: $26.20 All Game and $17.45 Small Game for a resident of Alabama
  • When you renew your driver license, it takes up to 2 business days for AL Public Safety records to be updated
  • Non-resident licenses are available. Please call 574-8563 for additional information.
  • Hunting licenses can be handled at any of the offices of the License Commissioner or you can order your hunting license online by visiting http://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses
How do I obtain a Seafood License?

Commercial seafood licenses are issued by Marine Resource Offices only. Locations are at Dauphin Island 251.861.2882 and Gulf Shores 251.968.7576. Applications can be obtained from Michael Square License Office located at the corner of Azalea Road and Michael Boulevard at the Customer Service window. Your application can then be mailed to one of the Marine Resource offices.

Recreational seafood licenses can be obtained at any of the offices of the Mobile County License Commissioner, or you can obtain a recreational seafood license online at http://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses.

How do I obtain a Fishing License?
  • An Alabama driver license is required.
  • The disclosure of your social security number is required pursuant to Federal law 42 U.S.C.A. § 666(a)(13)(2003) and Alabama state law § 30-3-194(a) Code of Alabama 1975. Information may be supplied to the Alabama Department of Human Resources to enforce orders of child support.
  • Current resident and non-resident freshwater and saltwater fishing license prices can be found at http://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses/fwfishlicinfo/
  • Freshwater: $13.10
  • Saltwater: $23.00
  • Fishing licenses can be handled at any of the offices of the License Commissioner or you can order your fishing license online by visiting http://www.outdooralabama.com/licenses
  • For additional questions, please contact Customer Service Department at (251) 574-8563.
How do I Obtain an Alabama Resident Disabled Fishing License?

For instructions and an application on how to obtain an Alabama Resident Disabled Fishing License Click here.